MR SHERLOCK HOLMES

Finally I have started reading ‘A Study In Scarlet’ written by Arthur Conan Doyle. This is my first entry for chapter 1 ‘Mr Sherlock Holmes’.

First thing, I realized while I was reading this chapter was that this story goes along in John Watson’s point of view. This made me think “Why did Arthur Conan Doyle wrote in Watson’s point of view?” and I started to guess. I thought he wrote it as Watson’s perspective because he wanted readers to have curiosity of Sherlock Holmes, so this way will be more strange to readers because we can’t know what Sherlock Holmes thinking about.

This chapter was basically about Watson’s situation and how Sherlock and Watson met up. So there was not much information about Sherlock’s character but some clues from the Stamford’s description of him

” Holmes is a little too scientific for my tastes-it approaches to cold bloodedness. I could imagine his giving a friend a little pinch of the latest vegetable alkaloid, not out of a spirit of inquiry in order to have an accurate idea of the effects. To do him justice, I think that he would take it himself with the same readiness. He appears to have a passion for definite and exact knowledge.”

 From the Stamford’s description, Sherlock seems to be a person, who is very scientific and passionate in a topic he is interested but I don’t think Sherlock is friendly person among the people.

The part that I was impressed the most from this chapter was when Sherlock and Watson first met in the laboratory, Sherlock already knew that Watson came from Afghanistan. This part was really interesting because it’s almost impossible to know a one person’s big event of his life by just looking at him. This part made me very excited, I really expecting to read next chapter to figure out how Sherlock knew it.

기본

답글 남기기

